A two-shower kind of day…

This photo describes exactly what I want to do today.  It is hot here in Chicago.  Actually, the hot is not the problem.  The problem is the humidity.  It is friggen muggy here.  I feel like I’m wading through a cloud, like I’ll drown if I breathe too deep, like, whole-body swampass.  If that’s not a gross enough image, then I’m not sure how else to describe being in my apartment all day.  We have no central air and we didn’t turn on the A/C until this evening when my roomy got home.

The special part of this whole grumble-fest, is that my room is the only bedroom in the apt. that cannot have a/c.  You see, my room is in the center of the apartment, bordered by living room, laundry room, stairwell, and a back room that is a converted patio.  So, while I have windows, they are useless because they give me a fantastic view of the perpetually messy back room.  So,  my room is the most fantastic to have in the winter, it is IMPOSSIBLE to stand in the summer.  I constantly have trouble falling asleep in the summer.  The first summer I was here, I was allowed to have A/C in my room; we just closed the back room off and left the window open in there to vent the back end of the window A/C unit stuck into my window.  But then I wasn’t allowed it since.

BUGGER.

So, this is my wish.  To stick my head in a freezer.  Oh me, oh my.

A hot mess,

Lindsay

ps. image found at flickr in a group i once stumbled upon through FGR (flickr group roulette; its another flickr group…).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment